Château de Fargues, known as ”poor man’s d’Yquem”, produces stunning sweet wines and is a fine proof of, that there also is a world outside the classified growths in Bordeaux.
Château de Fargues has been owned by Lur Saluces family since 1472. In the 18th and 19th century Lur Saluces family owned several properties in Sauternes and Barsac, like Coutet, Filhot, de Malle and especially d’Yquem. It was knowledge how to produce sweet wine at these properties, which made Marquis Bertrand de Lur Saluces to decide in late 1930s, that in the future sweet wine also would be produced instead of red wine at de Fargues. First vintage of de Fargues in sweet version was 1943.
For many years, the present owner of de Fargues, Count Alexandre de Lur Saluces, took care of both d’Yquem and de Fargues. But after d’Yquem changed hands in late 1990s, Count Lur Saluces said farewell to d’Yquem in May 2004 – and has consequently be able to concentrate 100 % about de Fargues. Big investments in new wine-facilities and general modernisation of the property have resulted in de Fargues being top-tuned.
De Fargues is situated in the southeastern corner of Bordeaux, more precisely in Fargues commune in the southern outskirts of Sauternes & Barsac districts. The site’s name is Fargues-Le-Collen and de Fargues lies on little hill with grandiose view over countryside. In addition to wine production, de Fargues has also a big production of sweet corn, which is used as fodder for property's cattle of the famous race Bazas. There is also a big area of grass and de Fargues owns a forest of more than 100 ha.
Its vineyard is 15 ha and vines grow on gravelly soil with subsoil consisting of small stones and clay. The cepage is 80% Sémillon and 20% Sauvignon Blanc, and wines are on average 35 years old.